Don’t Call It A Comeback…

Well, it’s been quite a few months now since my last post, and I guess there is no good excuse other than not having enough hours in the day. I last left off during my spring training for my first mountain bike race, “12 Hours of Mesa Verde”.In a nutshell, the race was amazing, the experience was epic and I had the luck of being on a team with 2 girls who rock! And then immediately following the race, life kicked in…work, dance recitals, school events, summer planning, and we were off to the races!

13123178_10153516259340848_8277405744826453000_o
Me with my awesome teammates Kristin & Kelly at 12 Hours of Mesa Verde

Since “12 Hours”, I rode my first century ride, the Denver Century Ride, directly following a week on the road working with Primal Wear on Ride The Rockies. Doing a century ride has been on my “bike-it list” since last summer and I was super stoked to have the opportunity, even though I felt pretty unprepared. I lucked out and the strength from my spring training pushed me through the 100 grueling miles, and I was happy to find that beyond the physical, I had the mental fortitude to weather almost 8 hours in the saddle in sweltering heat.  I also had the additional push of receiving a message inviting me to take an open spot on a 7 day hut to hut mountain bike trip from Telluride to Moab, so suddenly 100 miles on a road bike seemed a little less daunting.

Which leads me to today, as I settle back in after my 7 days, 243 miles 24,000+ feet of elevation gain, with zero electricity and zero showers…..and this is where I will begin to make my come back to the world of writing about riding..please stay tuned for the adventures!

IMG_2922
My amazing Primal Wear team!
Leave a Reply

