Wild Women on Wheels-Thanks!

Let me tell you what I think of bicycling. I think it has done more to emancipate women than anything else in the world. It gives women a feeling of freedom and self-reliance. I stand and rejoice every time I see a woman ride by on a wheel…the picture of free, untrammelled womanhood. ~ Susan B. Anthony,

Today is Thursday, meant to be my day of thanks. Practicing gratitude is a conscious evolution of self, without which we cannot grow as people. The practice of thanks and gratitude allows us to open our hearts to others, and through this create greater bonds in our life with family and friends and those dearest to us.

There are so many people I am grateful for in my life. But today, in honor of the presentation I am attending tonight, “Wild Women on Wheels“, I’d like to show gratitude for the women in my life who inspire and motivate me as a cyclist.

Today’s thanks go to Sundra, who saw a cyclist in me before even I truly did, and pushed me and encouraged me to grow. Jen Charrette, whose own cycling adventures and how she spreads the joy of cycling to others with her family’s foundation ,the Axel Project, as well as her amazing blog, Pedal Adventures, never cease to amaze me. Erin, who is one of my favorite people to ride with ever, a girl I could spend all day with on the trails and have a blast. Kathy, whose encouragement is always amazing and who I love seeing teach my daughter and her friends a love for riding in RAMS. Allison, who lent and then sold me my first bike, Zelda. Elisa, who I met first as an announcer at my cross races as she encouraged me along the course and now someone I count as a friend.  And Jasmine, my spin instructor and friend, who I get to hear speak tonight at the Sherbino Theater, since I met her she has supported and encouraged me, and is such a great teacher and inspiration.

To all you ladies, and so many more (Lisa, Ali, Ryan, Amy, Heather, Sue, Johanna, just to name a few) thank you for being such badass Wild Women on Wheels who have all helped bring me to be the cyclist I am today.

Riding with some very talented ladies outside Telluride, CO
Riding with some very talented ladies outside Telluride, CO
My first metric century! Great new friends on Tour De Cure
My first metric century! Great new friends on Tour De Cure
Ladies ride on Ridgway Area Trails!
Ladies ride on Ridgway Area Trails!
Some of my favorite ladies to ride with ever
Some of my favorite ladies to ride with ever
Margaritas after a great trail ride with my local riding group
Margaritas after a great trail ride with my local riding group
Alta Lakes
Alta Lakes
Leave a Reply

