You’ve Gotta Work For It

Wow! It’s been awhile! I guess I have been so busy riding, I have forgotten to write.

Where to start? I could talk about my amazing opportunity to ride Day One of Ride The Rockies through Colorado National Monument. Or maybe about my experience learning the art of downhill mountain bike handling. Or I could write about riding a lovely Felt carbon road bike along the coast of California during Climate Ride. Perhaps maybe what I should start with is how much I love what I do!

I have a lot to thank my job for. There is the obvious financial benefit of being gainfully employed. But there is so much more to it. Until 3 years ago, I worked in restaurant management. Late hours, missed time with my daughter, unreliable pay and unhealthy lifestyle.

I returned to Colorado after a year stint in Illinois, and along with the resolve to never live in the Midwest again, I also decided I was done with the career path I had spent the last decade within. I searched high and low for a job that I could make work. And through an amazing friend, I landed at Alpine Cycle Connection. The first year that I worked on Ride The Rockies, I was blown away. And as I continued to work on tours and events, I became intrigued by the cycling community as a whole.

And as you all know, it was an instant love! And I have my job to thank for that in many ways. Not many people in life can say their career changed their life, but or me it has been a pleasant and welcome new path in my life. I can’t wait to see where it takes me from here (for example, thinking some gravel road riding is near in my future)!

PS- Don’t worry, I will still write about all the amazing rides I have been doing, and have some great pics to follow as well.

Ridgway Area Girls Ride! Loving all that I am learning and friends I am making
Ridgway Area Girls Ride! Loving all that I am learning and friends I am making
Mount Crested Butte in my fav Hincapie jersey! I look pretty in purple!
Mount Crested Butte in my fav Hincapie jersey! I look pretty in purple!
Leave a Reply

