How It Began (An Homage to Ride The Rockies)

As I mentioned before, I only began road biking back in August. This is the story of how I came to this sport.

I work for a company called Alpine Cycle Connection. We work support and logistics in many different facets for many different rides and races nationwide. I came to this job by pure luck, and never would have seen it bringing me to this point in my life.

The first tour I worked with ACC was Ride The Rockies, an iconic multi day tour through my home state of Colorado. It was my first introduction to the cycling community, and the first chance I had to see firsthand people true love for the sport.

In my job, the easiest way to describe what I do is to say we take care of all the details so all you have to do is enjoy riding your bike. And one of the best parts of my jobs is seeing clients do just that. I have met so many amazing people on these tours, and I love seeing familiar faces as people return year after year to be a part of an event like this. It was my experience with many of these riders that prompted me to begin riding. There is something truly infectious about their love for the sport.

As I approach my third year of being part of Ride The Rockies, its amazing to me how I see things differently as not just a worker but as a cyclist. I can appreciate the thought and work that goes into planning a route that can challenge many but still accommodate varying abilities. All the tours we work on are well thought out and amazingly well executed. Ride the Rockies is always a special wonder to me, as they take on the challenge of 2500 riders for a week long tour. The amount of work and planning and just sheer dedication on the behalf of the tour coordinators is always astounding to me. The sponsors of this ride are great as well, all working together to help promote cycling and our great state.

I owe a huge amount of gratitude to both the riders and coordinators of this tour, because without my experience on this tour, I don’t know that I would have pulled towards cycling in my personal life. And now that I have begun, I can’t imagine my life without it.

Leave a Reply

