Sometimes I get so focused on training, preparing, for new rides or next cross season, or just even to beat my previous times, that I forget the true simple beauty of riding a bike.

This weekend, I traveled to Denver to attend the Ride The Rockies route announcement party. My employer, Alpine Cycle Connection has been a supporting partner to the ride for over 20 years. It was a lovely event (and an excuse for me to dress up) and its always great to  spend an evening among cycling enthusiasts.

The following day, I took a break from work and spent the afternoon with a good friend and his 4 year old daughter. We hooked up his Burley carrier to his bike and rode down to the Cherry Creek Bike Path. It was sunny and close to 70 degrees as we rode along the creek, his daughter pointing out squirrels to us. We stopped on Platte to see his new restaurant space (for Denver locals, keep your eyes out for Carbon/Habit opening in April). WE had lunch and continued back around to his apartment.

I didn’t take Queen of the Mountain, or beat a personal record. I burned a laughable amount of calories, my heart rate never rose, my breath was never ragged. I rode for the pure joy of it, remembering the side of cycling we often forget. The way you travel at a slower pace, truly see your surroundings, the way you see the town or city in a different light. It reminded me of the fact that cycling brings friends and families together, connects us in a world full of disconnect and solitude.

 

Leave a Reply

